Dancing With Jesus


 

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

 

Today marks my Papa’s fourteenth birthday in heaven.  On December 5, 1997, Papa stopped by our house on his way to visit a client.  He always made a point of stopping by our house for a quick visit anytime his job brought him into the vicinity of our house.  Those visits were one of the highlights of my early years.

Later that day, my family went out for the evening and upon returning home found several voice messages left my Nana and my aunts.  We learned that a bus rear-ended Papa and he was in the ER.  During the accident, Papa hit his chest on the steering wheel.  The force of the impact unbeknownst to himself or the ER physician caused serious damage to his heart.  Unfortunately he did not experience the typical symptoms of such an injury and when the ER staff could not find anything wrong, they discharged Papa home.  The next day Papa returned to the ER where they admitted him to the Cardiac ICU.  After two weeks, God took Papa home.

On December 24, 1997, we celebrated Papa’s first birthday in heaven.  I remember one of my uncles asking me a question about Papa and responding with “I miss Papa, but I’m glad he’s with Jesus because I know that I will see him again when Jesus comes for me.”  Even at the age of nine years old, the Holy Spirit opened my eyes to the knowledge that because Papa and I share a Savior I have the assurance that death will only serve as a temporary separation.

“I tell you this, brothers: flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable.  Behold! I tell you a mystery.  We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed, in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet.  For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we shall be changed.  For this perishable body must put on the imperishable, and this mortal body must put on immortality.  When the perishable puts on the imperishable, and the mortal puts on immortality, then shall come to pass the saying that is written: ‘Death is swallowed up in victory.’  ‘O death, where is your victory?  O death, where is your sting?’  The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law.  But thanks be to God, Who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain (1 Corinthians 15:50-58 ESV).”

As I listened to the radio this Christmas season, I heard a song called “Dancing with Jesus”.  I too, like Mary, hold onto Hope and dream of Heaven’s day when I will dance with Jesus.  In this world of ours, we too easily forget Hope and the coming of Heaven’s day.  I challenge you to remember how fleeting this life is and to not put off making your peace with God because “in the twinkling of an eye” the last trumpet will sound and the opportunity will have flown.

“Dancing With Jesus”

“A mother’s watching her newborn

A smile of joy upon her face.

She can’t believe the day is here

The angel had proclaimed.

Little eyes are opened and the baby starts to cry.

She picks him up into her arms and sings a lullaby.

Now she’s dancing with Jesus,

Dancing with Jesus.

She’s dancing with Jesus,

Dancing with Jesus.

A mother watches in despair.

Tears well in her eyes

For the path of pain her son would take;

The way He had to die.

But standing underneath that cross,

His life begins to fade.

She reaches up and holds to hope

And dreams of Heaven’s day.

Where she’ll be dancing with Jesus,

Dancing with Jesus,

Dancing with Jesus,

Dancing with Jesus.

Glory, Hallelujah in the highest.

Glory, Hallelujah in the highest.

We’ll be dancing with Jesus,

Dancing with Jesus.

We’ll be dancing with Jesus,

Dancing with Jesus.

We’ll be dancing with Jesus,

Dancing with Jesus.”

~ Daniel Doss and Sam Mizel 2010

2 thoughts on “Dancing With Jesus

  1. Oh, Kaitlin – This is such a nice rememberance of Papa! Brought tears to my eyes (in a good way). Thank you for not forgetting him! Where on earth did you find those pics? Haven’t seen them in a while.

    Love you!
    Sindee and David

Leave a Reply

