My Grace is Sufficient


UNDER CONSTRUCTION

I have found that creating a blog is very easy.  However, creating a post to a blog is a completely different story!  This situation reminded me of my junior year at The Potter’s School when I studied under Nikki Troxell in her Grammar Review & Composition Course (G&C).  Mrs. Troxell has a gift for writing as well as teaching.  Long story short, her class kicked my butt!  As a result, I learned how to write effectively and this skill has greatly benefited me in the years since I took that class—particularly during my collegiate career.

As I thought over what subject I would use for my first blog post, I wondered why I struggled to write this first post.  I remembered wrestling with the same issue when I first began G&C with Mrs. Troxell.  At that point, I recalled why I had found writing so difficult: I sought to write with my strength, my wisdom, and my thoughts and rejected the idea of leaning upon God for these things.  Proverbs 29:23 states, “One’s pride will bring him low, but he who is lowly in spirit will obtain honor” (ESV).  When I eventually recognized my folly in trying to separate God from any part of my life—even my school work—I humbled myself and sought His face in all that I did.  My writing and grades improved as a result, my stress dissipated, and my work glorified God (Deuteronomy 8:2-3, ESV).

2 Corinthians 12:9 by Theologigal, 2011

2 Corinthians 12:9 by Theologigal, 2011

In much the same way, I recognize that pride acted as my stumbling block in writing this post.  I forgot my new identity and instead reverted back to the old habits of my past life; I forgot “My Grace is Sufficient” (Ephesians 2:1-10, ESV; Ephesians 4:17-24, ESV; Proverbs 16:18, ESV; & 2 Corinthians 12:9-10, ESV).

My whole purpose in starting this blog is to make public the stories of God’s grace in my life and to provide examples of God’s power made perfect in my weaknesses.  I am a Christian.  I am also far from perfect.  God did not adopt me because I earned the right to the name “Christian” (Romans 5, ESV).  He made me His own in order that His glory might shine brightly in spite of my shortcomings.  In this way, He ensures all creation bears witness to His all-sufficient grace and omnipotence (Matthew 19:16-30, ESV; 2 Corinthians 12:8-10, ESV).

“But He said to me, ‘My Grace is sufficient for you, for My Power is made perfect in weakness.’  Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities.  For when I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Corinthians 12:9-10, ESV).

Godspeed,                                                                                                                                                   Kaitlin O’Hearn, BS, RN

References

James, B., Lindsey, H., & Sampson, G. (2013). Jesus, take the wheel [Recorded by D. Bradbery]. On Jesus, take the wheel (The voice performance) – single [Mp3]. Universal Republic Records.

Ledner, M. J. (Lyricist/Composer). (2004). You are my hiding place [Recorded by Selah (A. Hall, T. Smith, & N. S. Sponberg)]. On Hiding place [Mp3]. Curb Records.

Maher, M., & Tomlin, C. (2004). Your grace is enough [Recorded by C. Tomlin]. On Arriving [Mp3]. Six Steps Records.

Morgan, R., & Fielding, B. (2006). Mighty to save [Recorded by L. Story]. On Great God who saves [Mp3]. Fair Trade Services/Sony Music Distribution. (2008)

Morgan, R., & Fielding, B. (2006). Sólo Dios puede salvar [Recorded by En Espíritu y en Verdad]. On Luz y salvación [Mp3]. En Espíritu y en Verdad. (2008)

Mosley, S., Schultz, M., & Wood, T. (2012). All things possible [Recorded by M. Schultz]. On All things possible [Amazon Mp3]. Columbia Records/Fair Trade Services.

Theologigal. (2011, October 19). [2 Corinthians 12:9 by theologigal]. Retrieved from http://theologigal.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/bible-verse-2-corinthians-my-grace-is-sufficient-for-you-for-my-power-is-made-perfect-in-weakness1.jpg

Watts, I. (Lyricist), Funk, J. & Thomson, V. (Arrangers), Resignation (Southern Harmony) (Tune Name), & Anonymous (Composer). (2010). My shepherd will supply my need [Recorded by The Choirs of Washington National Cathedral]. On America the beautiful [Amazon Mp3]. Washington, District of Columbia: Washington National Cathedral. (October 7, 2004 – November 12, 2004).

One thought on “My Grace is Sufficient

Leave a Reply

